Get ready for a written permit test and the road test, or just renew your knowledge by downloading the Official NYS DMV Driver’s Manual.
Teen Driver Restrictions & Licensing Requirements:
Step 1–Junior Learner Permit
Minimum Age Required: 16
Restrictions: In New York City you may only drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. with your parent or guardian who must be 21 or older and have a license to operate the vehicle you are driving. In Upstate New York you may drive at all times but you must be with a licensed supervising driver.
How To Get One: Make an appointment at your local DMV office and take a 20-question theory test. You can practice for it here.
Step 2–Junior Driver License
Minimum Age Required: 16
Restrictions: You may not drive in New York City with a junior driver license. However, you may drive in Upstate New York unsupervised between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. Between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. you may drive unsupervised only between your home and employment or a school course. In all other circumstances you need a licensed supervising driver with you.
How To Get One: 6 months after getting your permit, you can schedule and take your road test. You also need a Certificate of Supervised Driving signed by your parent or guardian—we have that form available.
Then take a 5-hour pre-licensing course which we offer. And then book some lessons with us to get ready for your road test. After you pass your road test, you will be issued a junior driver license.
Teens with junior driver’s licenses are allowed to drive on their own, but must follow certain restrictions. Please check the NYS DMV website for a complete list of those restrictions. The holders of a junior driver’s license may not drive in the city of New York.
Step 3–Senior Driver License
Minimum Age Required: 18
How To Get One: First, take a 5-hour pre-licensing course which we offer, if you did not take one before. Then, take some driving lessons with us which will prepare you for the driving test.
After passing your road test you will be issued a senior driver license.
Key Points for Parents
Parents play a huge role in helping their teens gain as much driving experience as possible. Before you begin, ask yourself a few questions.
- Can you dedicate several hours a week to practice driving with your teen?It is recommended that your teen completes at least 50 hours of supervised driving with a parent before being allowed to drive solo.
- Are you committed to coaching in different driving conditions and at different times of the day? It’s best to start practicing driving in basic low-risk situations and gradually move to more complex situations, such as highways and driving in the rain.
- Are you patient enough to provide constructive feedback? There may be times when you want to yell, but remind yourself to remain calm, patient and positive and talk through the driving choices your teen makes. When necessary, agree to take a breather and work it out.
- Are you a good role model? Your teen has been watching you drive for years, but you might want to step up your driving game now. Always wear your seat belt, obey traffic laws, never talk or text on the phone while driving, don’t speed—the list goes on and on, but remember, lead by example.
- IF YOUR ANSWER TO ANY OF THE ABOVE IS “NO” THEN PLEASE CONTACT US—WE CAN HELP! As a licensed driving school, it is our job to manage and coach your teen into becoming a safe, experienced driver through practice and mentoring. We are in charge and we can control how quickly your teen gets to drive under new conditions. Keep in mind, if your teen is breaking family rules or not being a responsible partner in the process, it can delay licensure.
IMPORTANT: Penalties for Junior Drivers
New drivers are on a probationary period for 6 months after receiving their license or permit. Penalties for violations as a junior driver are stricter than usual and may result in suspension or revocation of your driving privileges.
Your permit or license will be suspended for 60 days if you are convicted of a serious traffic violation or two other violations.
Your permit or license will be revoked for 60 days if you are convicted of a serious traffic violation or two other violations within the first 6 months after getting your driving privileges back following suspension or revocation.
Your permit or license will be suspended for 120 days if you are convicted of a cell phone or texting violation.